The monastery was built in the X-XIII centuries under the aegis of the Bagratuni dynasty. The Haghartsin complex is located high in the mountains where eagles soar, and the name of the monastery is translated from the Armenian as “The Game of Eagles”. The image of eagle as a strong bird, is often found in the walls of Haghartsin. Thus, the sculptural group of the eastern facade of the church of Surb Astvatsatsin (Holy Virgin) depicts two men in monastic attire and an eagle sitting on the dome of the church.


Surb Grigor Church, built in the XI century, is the oldest building of the complex. The main monastery church of Surb Astvatsatsin (Holy Virgin) was built in 1281. In the XII-XIII centuries, gavit was added to the church. The Surb Stepanos church, built in 1244, resembles the Surb Astvatsatsin church, but of smaller size.

The refectory, built in 1248, is also located on the territory of the monastery.

The complex has several cross-stones. Khachatur Taronetsi, the famous Armenian medieval theologian, is buried here.

The church is worthy of your special attention because of the amazing harmony of fairy-tale nature and ancient architecture.